New Year, New Laws

January 2, 2019

 

 

With the start of the new year, new laws go into effect. Some of the larger ones that may impact you here in Arizona, include minimum wage increasing to $11/hr, and your vehicle registration has gone up by at least $32.

 

Minimum Wage Increase

 

In 2016, Arizona voters approved Proposition 206, the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, which among other requirements, increases minimum wage every year until 2020 when minimum wage is expected to reach $12 per hour. In 2019, minimum wage increases in Arizona to $11.00 an hour for non-tip earning employees, and $8 an hour for tip-earning employees.  

 

Arizona Vehicle Registration Fee Increase

Starting January 1, a new fee is added to vehicle registrations, and it does apply to those whose registration is due in January.

 

The fee is $32 and is slated to fund the Department of Safety’s highway patrol operations and road maintenance. Those with golf carts and vehicles that are primarily off-road will pay an additional $5.

 

Arizona legislators approved this fee earlier in 2018. When the fee was first announced, it was estimated at $16. After the Arizona Department of Transportation reviewed the number of people who would be paying, the fee doubled. According to ADOT, this is due to the number of people who paid for multi-year registration and would not be renewing their registration in 2019.

 

There is a current proposal in the legislator to repeal this fee, however, Governor Ducey has estimated that the fee will not be repealed. 

 

Recess

If you have kids in fourth and fifth grade, starting this next school year, your students will see a change.

 

Senate Bill 1083, which passed in April 2018, Arizona public schools are now mandated to have at least two recess periods each day from kindergarten through 5th grade.

 

2018 Farm Bill

From the federal government, one law that will help Arizona is the 2018 Farm Bill which was passed December 12, 2018. This bill removed hemp from the Controlled Substances Act, which now makes the hemp and CBD industry legal. Prior to the enactment of this bill, only 3 states still had hemp and CBD listed as controlled substances. With this change, these products can now be transported across all state lines legally.

 

 

Article Sponsored By

 

 

 

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Instagram Feed
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon
News Archives
Please reload

Sponsors

    Like what you read? Donate now and help LPNN provide fresh news and analysis for our readers   

© 2017 Lake Powell News Network, LLC